‘WHAT I WISH I’D KNOWN AT 15’ By DIANE MESSIDORO

I am tres excited, for today I shall be hosting my very first guest post.  So dear readers, without further ado, I shall hand you over to Diane Messidoro, debut author of ‘How to Keep a Boy as a Pet’:

‘First, thank you Nocturnal Reader – it’s an honour to be your very first blog tour ‘act’!

*takes shy bow*

Second, hmm…

What do I wish I’d known at 15?

It’s a tricky question to answer, to be honest.  It’s so easy to look back and say, oh if only I’d known this/that/the other, everything would have been just peachy.  But, often, when you’re living through something, you just have to get on with it.  For example, if you’d asked what I most wanted to know in the world when I first turned 15, I would have said…

‘Oh My God – how can I make Tarquintius* notice I even exist?’

*Name changed for secrecy and to make Gary sound more exciting.

A few months later, I would have ranted…

‘Why did Tarquintius tell me how cool my hair looked in a really intense and passionate way, then start snogging my so-called best friend?

And just before turning 16…

‘Why does my mum totally not get that GETTING TARQUINTIUS TO LIKE ME IS FAR MORE IMPORTANT THAN PASSING EXAMS?’

I wouldn’t have listened to any sensible answers to these questions, of course.  I was 15, I knew best.  A wise friend did tell me at the time, ‘Diane, there will be other boys, honest.  Besides, Tarquintius IS much shorter than you, even when you hunch your shoulders and bend your knees at the same time.’  But, I just huffed and carried on swooning around.

Here’s one thing I really do wish I’d known though (and I do think it can make a BIG difference to your life learning it now.   I can sum it up with a little doodle…(WARNING: TURN AWAY NOW IF NUDITY OFFENDS YOU!)

Yes, they really are! (Boobs, noses and all other bits of you: ditto.)

Okay, it’s natural to want to make the best of what you’ve got, that’s fine.  And having fun with fashion and make-up, if you’re into that, is cool too.  It’s part of discovering your style, who you really are.  But please, please don’t criticise yourself for not living up to the crazy ‘ideals’ some websites/magazines/TV shows set for girls.

If you see a picture that makes you feel bad, makes you really believe you have to look a particular way to be loved, or even liked, turn the page, then throw your head back and laugh (even if you have to fake it).

And if a boy EVER says to you – ‘I really like you but…you need to get a smaller bum/perkier nose/bigger whatevers.’ Smile – then walk away.  Fast! Believe me, you always look your best when you walk tall, in your own skin.

If I’d known that at 15, maybe I wouldn’t have hobbled around hunched up with knock-knees for a year.  Maybe, just maybe, Tarquintius would have noticed me after all…


HUGE thank you to Diane for writing a fantastic post and as an added bonus there is a competition too.

For your chance to win a copy of How to Keep a Boy as a Pet and the cover boy’s T-shirt, visit:

http://www.electricmonkeybooks.co.uk/competitions/how-to-keep-a-boy-as-a-pet-competition/

Next stop on the tour is the Choose YA Blog

One thought on “‘WHAT I WISH I’D KNOWN AT 15’ By DIANE MESSIDORO

Leave a Reply

